h1

Outer Space Alien Cake

April 15, 2012

My son and I created this cake for his preschool fundraiser! He came up with the idea and even helped with some of the fondant decorations (and ate some as well!). The alien topper was also his idea and he said it must have one eyeball and two tongues!! The cake is a 7 inch vanilla cake, iced and filled with vanilla buttercream and covered in fondant.

Here is my son’s alien….one large eyeball and two tongues!! He still looks like a nice alien. This figurine was made of Rice Krispies Treats and draped in fondant. The purple planet he is sitting on is also made of Rice Krispies Treats and covered in fondant. To make the craters on the cake, I used the back end of a paint brush and a small round container  and pressed them gently in to the fondant.

This photo shows my favorite part of the cake that we created, the planets and galaxy. My son is really into space right now and he had me make all of the well-known planets. He would look in his space book and tell me the size and color of each planet. For the planets, I marbled different colors of fondant and rolled it out to cut. Marbling fondant is when you take multiple colors of fondant, large and small and mush them together without totally mixing the colors into one. I also used a medium size paint brush, silver dust and vodka to make the “galaxy look” on the black fondant. I mixed the silver dust and vodka and splattered the mixture on the cake with the paint brush to give it the “starry look.”  I remember doing this in elementary school art class!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

