h1

St. Patrick’s Day Rainbow Cake

March 19, 2011

Thursday was St. Patrick’s day and my parents came into town. My son and I wanted to make a special cake for Grandma and Pa! We made a 9 inch round white sour cream cake filled with chocolate ganache and iced with green buttercream frosting and fondant. Wow, that was a mouthful! We also made a  pot of gold that was a chocolate cake covered in black fondant and decorated with gold coins.  Two days before St. Patrick’s Day I made the gumpaste  leprechaun, coins and rainbow.  It all came together despite my HOT kitchen! It was 82 degrees in my kitchen and my buttercream and fondant was so soft. I tried to cover all of the ripples in the fondant, this never happens to me! But I learned from it and hopefully it won’t happen again

St. Patrick's Day Cake - Pot at the End of the Rainbow

Pot of Gold Cake

Side View of St. Patrick's Day cake

Gumpaste

Leave a Reply

