h1

Yellow and Gray Baby Shower Cake with Fondant Covered Blocks

March 31, 2012

This week I made a baby shower cake for a little guy named Wyatt. The theme and color scheme of the shower was yellow and gray with ducks. The “grandma to be” wanted blocks and ducks and something different! I made a 10 inch vanilla cake, filled with vanilla bavarian, iced in chocolate frosting and covered in fondant.

At first, the color scheme was hard for me to grasp for a baby shower. The gray really threw me off but after it was all said and done I think the two colors were great. The decorations at the shower were fabulous and so creative, the cake fit right in!!

I learned that the mom to be loves shoes, especially puma shoes. I decided to make fondant Puma shoes just for the mom. I made them in a bright blue color to contrast the white, yellow and gray on the cake. They sure did stand out! Below are fondant covered blocks that are made of Rice Krispies Treats. I have another post that describes how I make these at:

https://byrdiegirl.wordpress.com/2011/05/27/how-to-make-fondant-covered-toy-blocks-out-of-rice-crispy-treats/

Leave a Reply

