h1

Baby Shower Cake That Looked Like a Wedding Cake

April 21, 2012

I made this cake for a friend that needed a baby shower cake that looked like a wedding cake. It sounds funny but the mom to be loves things that are elegant and fancy. I had to go outside my comfort zone and go away from my whimsical style and head into the “elegant”  arena.

This cake was a two tier (7 inch and 9 inch) vanilla cake, filled with vanilla bavarian and strawberry preserves and iced in vanilla buttercream. The colors of the party were yellow, ivory, gold and bronze. That’s a lot going on, so I chose to use the yellow and ivory and detail everything with pearl dust.  The baby’s name is going to be Noel so I put her initial in the center of two different colored circles of fondant.

This was my first time using the diamond quilting pattern on a cake. Yikes, was it a little difficult!! I used the plastic impression mat for my diamond pattern. The problem was that the buttercream kept ripping off the cake and sticking to the mat. I sprayed the mat with cooking spray like the youtube video said but it didn’t seem to help. I usually work in fondant and not buttercream when I am decorating cakes, so I learned a lot and I hope I don’t have to do one of these any time soon! Oh, and I placed pearlized balls in the diamond pattern and these turned out great! I used very pointy tweezers to put them on the cake.

This was the second multi-loop bow I have done for a cake. It turned out pretty good but I really should have made about 4 more small loops to cover gaps. I initially made 14 but now I know to always make extra, just in case!!

I also made 15 cake pops to go with the cake. They were vanilla cake covered in white almond bark and drizzled in Wilton yellow tabs. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

