h1

My Son’s Power Ranger Cake – 5th Birthday

July 15, 2012

I can’t believe my son is almost 5 years old!! We celebrated his birthday a little early on my husband’s day off and it was great. The party had a Power Ranger theme with sword fighting and testosterone….8 little boys and one lonely little girl.

The cake was a half sheet chocolate with chocolate frosting, covered in fondant. I just slapped some buttercream and fondant on the cake and beat it up a little with my fingers to give it a rocky terrain look. The mountain that the 5 Power Rangers are busting out of is made of Rice Krispies Treats and covered in fondant. The decor on the cake was made about 1 1/2 weeks before the party. I had some free time because my son was with Grandma for a week so I used my time wisely. I sculpted the five 1/2 rangers (Mia, Kevin, Jaden, Emily and Mike) out of fondant. I also made a full body Antonio that I painted in gold luster dust and a custom made Nylock creature. I didn’t want to make the creature too spooky because I didn’t want to freak out the kids….and the parents too.

I also made the letters, rocks and number out of fondant. The sand around the cake was crushed graham crackers and white sugar.

The kids went crazy for the Rangers.  They had a slice of cake, vanilla ice cream and one figurine each…sugar overload! My son had the best time and I’m so glad Grandma and our friends were there to share it with us!

Leave a Reply

