h1

Backpack Cake with Edible School Supplies

August 11, 2012

This week at work I helped make a really cute 3D backpack cake. I wanted to share it with you because it was really neat to see it come together.

Above is my wonderful co-worker Savannah, placing all of the school supplies on or “in” the backpack. (It’s all about optical illusions)

I had the job of making all of the fondant school supplies for the cake. I loved going school supply shopping when I was little so this was great being able to make my very own supplies! I made a notebook, ruler, crayons, palette, paint brush, pencils, scissors and a red apple. The cake was sculpted out of two quarter sheet cakes by Savannah. We then covered it in fondant and put details on the cake. It’s all about details when making any cake that looks like some thing real. (seams, zippers, rips, folds, leather, etc.)

The cake is just missing the red apple but I wasn’t able to get a photo of the finished product….I had to go and pick up my two boys and go swimming! ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

