h1

Elegant Cakes for Display – Contemporary and Modern Wedding Cakes

August 11, 2012

I wanted to share with you the most recent display cakes that I created for work. I really had to go outside my comfort zone and come up with something delicate and fancy. I would describe my style of cake decorating as whimsical and fun but I really enjoyed doing something different!

The first is a two tier 8 inch and 6 inch cake, covered in burgundy fondant. The designs on the bottom cake are just pearls and gold dragees. I thought this process would be easy but I was wrong. I hand placed each pearl and ball…it took forever! The bow on the top tier is made of fondant and painted in gold luster dust.

The second cake is a 4 tier wedding cake covered in ivory and navy blue fondant. The cake is made up of a 12 inch, 10 inch, 8 inch and 6 inch cake for the top. The 10 inch cake is covered in fondant rose petals and sprayed with gold edible spray. I used the gold metallic edible spray by DUFF. I got this at Michaels with my 50% coupon. Once again, I wish I had an air brush machine…someday!! The gold flower on the top tier was painted in gold to match the rose petals on the 10 inch tier.

I hope you enjoy these!

Leave a Reply

