h1

My First Fondant High Heel Shoe – Christian Louboutin Fondant Shoe

August 29, 2012

I wanted to share my first attempt at a high heel shoe. This particular shoe that I tried to mimic is a Christian Louboutin Vampanodo Satin Bow Sandal that is found at Neiman Marcus. The real shoe is shown below and it is gorgeous! I would love to have these but they cost close to $1000….no thank you!

I didn’t put the famous red sole on the fondant shoe because I couldn’t figure how to do it. I just wanted the shoe to look like a real high heel.

The bow in the back of the shoe made it quite heavy but the shoe does seem to be pretty stable. I think one key to making a fondant high heel work is by letting it dry for a long period of time. Each section of the shoe had to dry separately so that it was stable enough to hold the next section. I started with making the heel first and letting it totally dry before attaching the sole to it. I let the heel and sole dry for a couple of days before putting the straps on. I used rolled up clear wrap or Saran Wrap to keep the shape of the toe strap and heel strap. Once the shoe was totally dry, I made the bow right on to the heel and let it dry again for a couple of days.

There are a couple of high heel tutorials and templates out there, you just have to find the one that suits your taste.

 

Leave a Reply

