h1

Gnome Cake for Fall…Is It Fall Yet?

September 20, 2012

I really felt like baking a cake this week so my son and I decided to make a special cake for Daddy….just because we love him! I had Fall on my mind and really wanted to see if I could create one of those cute chubby little gnomes you see in the garden. This cake is a 7 inch vanilla filled with chocolate buttercream and iced in green vanilla buttercream. All of the decor is edible and made from fondant. The grass/leaves are piped with a leaf tip with dark green vanilla buttercream.

I thought it was cooling down here in Arizona but I got way ahead of myself with the temperature. Last week it was in the 90s and I thought we were headed to Fall…it was 103 degrees today,boo! Like the sign says on the cake “Goodbye Summer, HELLO FALL!”

The garden gnome was actually made of Rice Krispies Treats and covered in fondant.

My son helped me sculpt some of the decor and I think he did a wonderful job. It was tough trying to teach him to how to make pumpkins without squishing the orange balls in his hands. He said his pumpkins looked like rotten ones you see in the pumpkin patch. That’s what they looked like but they had character!!

I decorated the front of the cake before I let my helper attack the backside with his decor. He could hardly wait for me to finish and take my photos.

Here he is, putting his hand sculpted decorations in the right places.

Here’s his side of the cake!! He used every ounce of decor for his side and parts of mine. I was so proud of him and we had a great time baking and decorating Daddy’s special cake together.

Leave a Reply

