h1

Super Hero Cake With The Incredible HULK Fondant Figurine

November 17, 2012

The cake I posted above was done for one of my son’s best friends. He LOVES the incredible hulk and any super hero you can find. He’s all boy and this was the perfect cake for his awesome little personality. The birthday boy requested the HULK, Spiderman and Captain America on his cake. It took a little while to come up with a concept that wouldn’t be too crowded and this is what I came up with.

The left side of the cake was the Spiderman side. I covered half of the cake in red fondant and piped on black royal icing for the webs.

The right side of the cake was the Captain America side. I covered this side in navy blue fondant and created the Captain America shield and stars out of fondant as well.

The HULK was made 5 days prior to the party to give it ample time to dry. The birthday boy wanted a scary Hulk so I tried to make him look mean and tough. The “Happy Birthday” sign was made of yellow fondant and I wrote the message with an edible pen. I tried to use a “comic” font for he writing to give it a true comic book look. The backdrop of buildings are also made of black fondant and skewered from the back with black royal icing. The rocks and letters of the name were made 4 days out and I also airbrushed the letters to give them a “HULK” look.

The cake was a 9 inch confetti cake with chocolate buttercream throughout. I really enjoyed making this cake and eating it to. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

