h1

Buzz Lightyear Cake and Elegant Birthday Cake

March 23, 2013

This time of year my schedule is very limited at work so I usually never get to finish cakes and see them out the door. This week I was able to create some really cute cakes that I thoroughly enjoyed making.

Buzz Lightyear CakeThis Buzz Lightyear cake was a 10 inch round Gluten-friendly chocolate cake that was for a 4th birthday. Buzz was made from Rice Krispies Treats that were covered in fondant. When the customer came to pick up the cake I told her that Buzz was totally edible but minus the toothpicks for stability. She asked me if Buzz was Gluten-free and I had no idea. I know that Rice Krispies cereal has gluten-free product but I didn’t know if the actual pre-made treats were gluten-free. She was going to check just to be safe and that made me feel so much better. I learned that I need to know what is gluten-free and not when I’m making my figurines.

Elegant Birthday CakeThis cake was so cute when it was finished and I wanted to take it home for myself! I thought the black fondant stripes were going to take me forever but they really only took about 25 minutes. The bow loops were made by one of my great co-workers and I just had to assemble it on the cake.

Leave a Reply

