h1

My Husband’s “Naked” Birthday Cake – No Frosting on the Cake!

November 4, 2013

 

IMG_3450

Today is my husband’s birthday and at his request he wanted a “naked cake” for his birthday. My meaning of “naked” is that the cake has the same structure as a normal cake but has no frosting on the sides. These cakes are pretty popular right now in rustic weddings because they are bare but beautiful. My husband doesn’t like frosting at all and this cake was right up his alley!! It was a 7 inch round chocolate cake with Swiss Meringue Buttercream icing between the layers. This is the only icing he likes…because it’s almost like whipped cream.

IMG_3417

I made figurines of our children for the top of the birthday cake about four days ago.  I like my fondant figurines to have enough time to get nice and dry.

IMG_3451

I made the birthday sign this morning and it is not edible. Just paper attached to skewers.

IMG_3454

Here’s my little family! HAPPY BIRTHDAY DADDY!!

Leave a Reply

