h1

3-D Fondant Owl Tutorial

January 11, 2014

fondant owlThis week I’m going to a surprise baby shower and I volunteered to bring cupcakes. There wasn’t a theme to the party so I decided to do cute owls in pink and purple for the cupcake toppers. I don’t know why I picked owls, maybe it’s a BIRD thing. At the last minute, I wanted to make a fondant cake topper to go with the little owls on the cupcakes.  I have never made a 3-D owl before and here’s how I put it all together.

Fondant Owl Topper:

IMG_4140

I almost always start with Rice Krispies Treats (RKT) when making larger figurines. I do this because I don’t want to use up all my fondant and you can actually enjoy eating something made of Rice Krispies Treats.  First, I shape RKT into 2 basic shapes of an owl, the body and head.

IMG_4142

The second step is putting on the ombre feathers. I used a round piping tip for the small circles used as feathers. I would make a layer of purple circles, attach them to body and then put white fondant into the existing batch of purple to make it lighter than the last layer.

IMG_4143

I did the ombre layering up until the neck area of the owl. I ended the feathers with white because the contrast with the purple is very eye-catching .

IMG_4144

Next, for the back feathers and wings I used smooth brown fondant. I cut out a large circle of brown and attached it to the backside, covering the exposed RKT areas. The wings are kind of like the shape of a leaf. To give these pieces a wing look I attached them to the body and pulled out the bottom edges, flipping them out a bit.

IMG_4146

Next in creating the head, I made two tear drop shapes of fondant and put them in the area where the ears would be.  They almost looked like little horns. I then covered the head in brown fondant and shaped fondant around the ears.

IMG_4158

The last couple of steps are putting on the eyes, nose and feet. I used different sizes of round piping tips for the eye pieces. The beak and feet were shaped into tear drops.  I put indention lines on the feet to give it a webbed look.

IMG_4156

The toppers and the big owl resemble each other but have their differences.  The eyes and ombre breast feathers are what set them apart bit they go together nicely. I hope this helps whomever is looking to make an owl!

IMG_4157

Leave a Reply

