h1

How To Make a Fondant Mushroom

March 8, 2014

IMG_4454

A couple of weeks ago I made a cake that was decorated with fondant mushrooms. The cake had an “outdoor/hunting” theme so I wanted to make real looking wild mushrooms to put around the base of the cake. Mushrooms are very easy to make and I thought I would share with you on how I make them.

IMG_4387

I started with a ball of fondant and rolled in between my hand to make it long like a little sausage. I placed the fondant on my board, standing upright, and used the table to form the base of the mushroom. I roll the sausage between my hands until I get a nice little point at the top of the upright sausage.

IMG_4389

I rolled out a small ball for the cap or top of the mushroom.

IMG_4391

In the palm of my hand, I use my Wilton ball tool to make an indention in my fondant ball. I roll the tool in the fondant to make like a bowl shape. I like to make my cap a little pointy on the top.

IMG_4393

I put water on the top of the base of the mushroom and place the bowl shape piece upside down on the pointy piece.

IMG_4395

I always make several shapes and sizes of mushrooms so they don’t have a uniform and repetitive look.

IMG_4396

I dusted each mushroom with cocoa powder to give it a dirt look, like you would find in the forest.

IMG_4397I dusted the top of each cap and the bottom of the base of the mushrooms.

IMG_4399

IMG_4400

tree trunk grooms cake

The end results are cute little wild mushrooms that add detail and life to my “outdoor/hunting” themed cake. I hope I explained myself okay and I hope this helps you!

Leave a Reply

