h1

Desert Graduation Cake

May 25, 2014

IMG_5206

This weekend I made a graduation cake that had a desert theme and lots of desert items. Our friends were hosting a party for their son that graduated from high school and is headed to the University of Arizona in the fall.  When I sketched out the cake my friend just wanted a couple of things that their son enjoys…desert tortoise, snake, desert stuff, an orange grad cap and a U of Arizona sign somewhere on the cake.

IMG_5207

The cake was a 9 inch vanilla cake with vanilla buttercream and fondant decor. I actually made red, white and blue filling for the inside of the cake ( U of A colors).  All of the decor was made of fondant and the grad cap was rice krispies treats covered in fondant.

IMG_5208

The decor that I made ahead of time were the cacti (saguaro cactus and paddle cactus and round cactus), rocks, animals and the graduation stuff…oh, and the road sign. I also used brown sugar for the desert sand and piped royal icing for the clouds.

IMG_5209

My friend had said that she was really going to miss her son because they do so much together so I made a road sign that told her how far he was going. U of A is only 112 miles from Phoenix….THAT’S NOTHIN! Hopefully that made her feel better because that’s a hop, skip and a jump to see her son.

IMG_5213I hope you enjoyed my desert grad cake and I hope this post helps anyone reading it. Have a great week!

hayen cake

Just though I’d share this cake with you too. I made this cake for the graduate 5 years ago on his 13th birthday….wow, time flies! He’s such a great kid and I wish him luck at U of Arizona, he’s gonna have a blast.

Leave a Reply

