h1

FONDANT CACTUS TUTORIAL – How to make a fondant saguaro cactus

May 25, 2014

fondant saguaro cactus

This week I made a cake that was decorated with lots of cacti and things you find in the desert. I took a took a couple of photos to share with you how I make a quick and easy saguaro cactus:

IMG_5161

First, I start with a nice long sausage shape of fondant. This will be the trunk of the cactus. The top of the cactus is slightly pointy.IMG_5162I love my fondant roller! My Wilton fondant roller is definitely on my list of favorite tools in my tool collection. I use this instead of using the palm of my hand or my fingers because you get a more even consistency when rolling out things. When you use the palm of your hand and your fingers you get ripples and ridges of uneven fondant.

IMG_5165

Another one of my favorite tools in my tool collection is my giant razor blade. I actually bought it in the clay/molding section of Michael’s. It cuts straight lines and makes it so much easier to do so.

IMG_5166

I use my long razor blade to score lines in the trunk of the cactus.

IMG_5167

Now it’s time to make the arms of the saguaro. I rolled out another sausage shape but a little smaller and thinner this time. I also scored it with the razor blade like I did for the trunk.

IMG_5168

I cut the sausage in half and they don’t have to be even in length.

IMG_5169

I bent the arms to curl up like the arms of a saguaro cactus. I dabbed the freshly cut ends with water and glued them to the cactus trunk.

IMG_5170

This is our cactus all put together.

IMG_5171

If you didn’t know, saguaro cactus have beautiful flowers that bloom only once a year. I used my tiny flower plunger cutter to make the flower.

IMG_5172

I only put flowers on a couple of cactus.

IMG_5173

I put skewers and toothpicks in most of the cactus to give them support. I let them dry for at least 3 days. I hope this helps you if you’re looking to make a simple cactus for a cake.

Leave a Reply

