h1

Simple Tools That I Use Everyday…

November 19, 2014

I just wanted to share with you a few of the different tools I use to make fondant figurines. A couple of these tools are usually found around the house and most people wouldn’t consider them cake tools.

IMG_6534Elmo is a pretty popular character that goes on a lot of 1st and 2nd birthday cakes. To make his “fur,” I use a small set of scissors and snip the fondant with just the tips of the blades. The snips almost resemble little triangles.

productimage-picture-scissors-mini-for-use-with-zinger-210_jpg_575x450_q85

 

These are the scissors that I use to make fondant “fur”, cut off excess fondant, and so on.

IMG_6261I made these fondant ballerina shoes a couple of weeks ago and the tool that I used for these were cotton balls. I shaped the shoe after I cut it out from the template and used the cotton balls to “stuff” the toes. The cotton gave the support I needed for the slippers to dry.

733eb66a_balletshoepattern_591

Above is the template that I used for the ballerina shoes.

9337332_1280x720Cotton balls are so basic but they really help things hold their shape when drying.

IMG_6096

The tool that I used for Spiderman was a fine point thin paint brush. These brushes are ideal when painting details that are small and precise. I got my paintbrushes at Michaels and Hobby Lobby.

small-paintbrushesI love these brushes!!

IMG_6089

Above is my Spiderman during construction. I really love using lollipop sticks as the center support in my figurines.  I use the thicker and longer ones from Wilton…I think they are actually for cookie lollipops? I hope this blog entry helps anyone who is looking for tips on cake tools!

Leave a Reply

