h1

2D Hand Painted Fondant Watercolor Flowers

December 29, 2014

IMG_6577

I wanted to share with you a simple cake that I made for a little girl’s birthday.  The client wanted the cake to have watercolor flowers, like the ones on the party invitation below.

il_340x270.627953628_13bh

This is an example of the invitation that I used for the creation of this cake. I mimicked the flowers on the invitation by using airbrush colors and lemon extract on fondant.

IMG_6582

This is a photo of my work area when I was making the fondant flowers.  I rolled out a thin piece of white fondant and cut out squiggly shapes that looked a lot like flowers. I painted pure airbrush color on the outer edge of the flower and then mixed airbrush color with lemon extract to dilute the color for the inner parts. The center of the flowers were left almost totally white and then dabbed with a bit of gold luster dust. I seriously felt like I was painting something that was going to be hung on the wall.

IMG_6578I hope this helps anyone who is looking to paint fondant watercolor flowers!

Leave a Reply

