h1

Peter Rabbit Fondant Figurines

February 5, 2015

IMG_7301

This week I created some fondant figurines from the book, The Tale of Peter Rabbit. I made Peter Rabbit, 3 of his siblings and vegetables for the garden. The decor is for an 8 inch round cake and most the figurines will be on top of the cake. I tried to make Peter and his family look like the illustrations from the book.

In this post I wanted to share a little of how I made the figurines.


IMG_7285

First, I shaped the bodies out of Rice Krispies Treats. Usually, I only use RKT for larger figurines. The bunnies were small but this time I wanted to make the bodies out of RKT so they were more stable.

IMG_7286

I attached ivory fondant to the body and scored it with a wilton line tool to make it look like fur.

IMG_7287

I painted the fur with vodka and food gel…the colors were ivory and warm brown. I always test it out on a strip of fondant before it goes on the real thing.

 

IMG_7289

This is what the fur looks like with diluted paint and vodka.

IMG_7290

Here’s all the little guys covered in fondant and ready to be painted and decorated.

IMG_7291

Peter’s siblings were wearing red capes. I made the little arms first and then covered them halfway with the strip of red fondant for the cape.
IMG_7300

 

Sorry I didn’t give you process of the rabbit’s heads, I was in a hurry. I created the rabbit ears first and let them dry for a couple of hours. This was so they would stick in the fondant head and stand by themselves. I painted the heads to match the bodies and all the rabbits have a different look to them.

IMG_7307

These are the little veggies that I made for the garden….Pumpkins, lettuce, onions, radish, potatoes and carrots. These take a little longer than you think because they are so small.

I hope you enjoyed the info about Peter Rabbit!

IMG_7308

Leave a Reply

