h1

Popeye the Sailor Man Cake Topper

June 5, 2015

IMG_7975

This week I made a large “Popeye the Sailor Man” topper for a 10 inch round cake. I learned a lot making this topper and I also got to think back about my childhood. My little brother and I watched Popeye all the time and always tried to eat spinach to get strong. We hated spinach back then but I LOVE it now!

IMG_7977

The body and arms of Popeye were made of Rice Krispies Treats and covered in 50/50 modeling chocolate/fondant. I let the body dry for 4 days and then took on the head! This is where things went wrong. My first attempt at at Popeye’s head was not good. It cracked in half and the support dowel went right through his eye. The rice krispies treats were way to heavy and I didn’t have support on the dowel for the head. Gravity was the culprit!

IMG_7952The next day I decided to use styrofoam for the head instead. I carved the foam with a serrated knife and sanded it down with a fine grain sandpaper. Next, I covered the foam head in the 50/50 modeling chocolate/fondant and put on the face details.

IMG_7981

Boy does Popeye have a BIG chin! Anyway, I hope you like my topper and have a great weekend!

IMG_7976

Leave a Reply

