h1

Fondant Soccer and Baseball Toppers

June 13, 2015

IMG_8063

This week I am working on fondant cake toppers for my nephew’s 11th birthday. He’s really into soccer and baseball and tons of other things that I just can’t fit on a cake. Anyway, our nieces and nephews are coming into town and we will be celebrating Father’s Day, Ryley’s birthday and my son’s baptism! We’re going to have FUN!!! I’m going to surprise him with a soccer/baseball cake with all edible decorations. Every kid will have something fondant to eat…but they might all have black mouths from the black fondant! I will have a house full of relatives so the cake will be simple and easy to put together…the less mess, the better!

IMG_8055

The first topper I made was a soccer ball made of rice krispies treats covered in fondant. When I was sculpting the ball I smashed the RKT into a round shape and rolled the ball on the table to make it smooth and even. I sketched out templates for the covering of the ball and cut out lots of pieces for the “soccer ball puzzle.” Everything fit pretty nice but I had to shave off some fondant in certain areas for it to come together. The template with five sides was for the black pieces and the six sided template was for the white pieces surrounding the black. The ball measured out to over 4 inches in height.

IMG_8065

Here’s a top view of the soccer cleats I made for Ryley. (My husband calls them spikes and I call them cleats.) Below are photos of how I started the cleats:

IMG_8059

I started out with rice krispies treats and pressed them into shoe shapes.

IMG_8061

Black fondant was put into the “foot holes” to make them look like you could actually put your little foot in them.

IMG_8062

If you look at a real shoe, the tongue of the shoe is always on the bottom or base and covered with fabric, leather, etc. That’s what I did here with the strip of black fondant.

IMG_8067

Sorry I didn’t get a photo of the cleats getting covered and detailed, I forgot to snap a shot with the camera. I let the shoes dry completely and then put on the cleats or studs for the final touch.

The wooden bat was  actually made by my 7 year old son. He mixed the fondant to make the woodgrain look and rolled out the fondant into the shape of the bat. He rolled a small ball of the same fondant and smashed it with his finger to make the knob of the bat. He couldn’t believe that he actually made fondant look like wood, it was so cute.

The fondant letters were all cut by freehand and measured at 3 1/4 inches in height.

IMG_8068Last, the cake will be baked and put together next week. I’ll post the final product next time, wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

