h1

Hand Painted Cupcake Birdhouse

July 22, 2015

imageRecently my mom asked me to participate in the Relay for Life Birdhouse Auction in my hometown. I LOVE things like this because I can do artsy stuff for a good cause.

The birdhouse auction consists of handpainted or handcrafted birdhouses that are a one-of-a-kind piece of art. Since I love cakes and cupcakes I decided to make a Giant Cupcake!

imageI started with a plain Jane birdhouse and sketched out my cupcake lines.  I used acrylic paint on the wood house and for the “whipped cream” I used painters acrylic latex caulk, topped with a painted ball for the cherry.

imageHere are my kiddos on Grandma’s front porch, eating fruit. My daughter can’t believe her brother stole some of her strawberries! I can. What a great summer!

Leave a Reply

