h1

Super Bowl 50 Cake-Fondant Football

February 9, 2016

image

The Super Bowl was this past Sunday and it was a great game. The Carolina Panthers lost to the Denver Broncos…YEAH BRONCOS!! Anyway, I whipped up a quick cake for the festivities. I didn’t have a whole lot of time to put the cake together on game day so I made it as simple as I could.

The football was made of Rice Krispies Treats and covered in fondant. The two team logos were cut out 3 days before the cake was put together as well as the football. I’m still trying to figure out my oven that we inherited in our new house. It’s a convection oven but I think it needs to be calibrated or something. I had to make two sets of cakes because the first cake that I made was overcooked…yuck! For the second cake I watched it carefully and it baked perfectly. (I must have opened the oven door 10 times…I never open the door!)

The grass on the cake was piped with a grass tip and the decor on the front of the cake was painted fondant. I actually used brown fondant for the 50, painted it gold and a dark gray for the trophy and painted it silver. The gold luster dust looked so much better on brown fondant than it did on yellow fondant. I learned something new this weekend!

I wasn’t sure if the cake would make it to the party because my husband kept forgetting that we had a cake in the car. He was like a Nascar driver and couldn’t avoid all the potholes in Indiana. The good thing was, IT MADE IT and everyone got to enjoy the cake!

I hope you all had a wonderful 2016 Super Bowl and thanks for looking at my blog.

image

Leave a Reply

