h1

Fondant Roller Coaster Cake

July 18, 2016

image

My son had his 9th birthday party this weekend and his theme for the cake was CEDAR POINT ROLLER COASTERS!

We recently went on a family vacation to CEDAR POINT in Sandusky, Ohio. Last year I would have never guessed that we would be vacationing in Ohio. Now that we live in the midwest, we’re trying to explore around us and take in the beautiful areas this part of the county has to offer. By the way, CEDAR POINT was awesome! The roller coasters are amazing, not to mention World Record setting. The first day of our vacation we walked over 7 1/2 miles and hit up some pretty thrilling rides. Even our 2 year old had rides to enjoy.

image

The cake that I made for my son had colors, rides, shops and busyness like the actual theme park. We were on sensory overload on our trip and that is how this cake is…a lot going on.

image

My son’s favorite sport now is lacrosse. We go and watch Notre Dame lacrosse games and once again, I would have never guessed that we would be watching and loving lacrosse.

image

This is my son riding a modified “Gatekeeper” roller coaster with his hand in the air, just like he did on vacation. The bird on the front of the coaster was sculpted out of yellow fondant and painted with gold luster dust. The roller coaster car and inclined tracks were made of Rice Krispies Treats and covered in fondant.

image

The decor around the bottom of the cake were rides and shops resembling my son’s favorite things in the park, like THE VALRAVN! This was the coaster that set world records for fastest, tallest and longest ride in the world. My poor husband had to ride this one…too steep for me!

We’re so blessed to have such a wonderful boy and I can’t wait to see what he has in store for me next year. I hope you enjoyed Katch’s 9th birthday cake!

Leave a Reply

