h1

Notre Dame Football Tailgate Party Cake

September 11, 2016

image

First of all, I apologize for the photos of this cake. It was very early in the morning and dark when I took the pictures.  I’ll try to do better next time.

This weekend was our family’s first ever Notre Dame football game. We’re new to the area and we were so excited to partake in the Notre Dame festivities of the pep rally, tailgating and the actual football game. Boy, did we have a wonderful time!

I decided to make a small and simple cake for our first ever tailgate party. It was a 7 inch chocolate cake with vanilla icing and Oreo cookie filling.  I covered the cake in white fondant and sprayed it with the gold Wilton color spray. I did make two mistakes here. The first mistake was I should have colored the fondant yellow to enhance the gold color. Second, I only bought one tiny little spray can of Wilton gold….I totally ran out and couldn’t touch it up at the end. I REALLY WISH I HAD AN AIRBRUSH MACHINE IN THIS MOMENT! Someday!

image

This was my fighting Irish leprechaun cake topper….he looks so grumpy!

image

Do you remember my structures from last week? Well, one structure became the Notre Dame Fighting Irish leprechaun.

image

Here’s another photo of the cake topper. I think its so neat to see it in it’s beginning phase and at the end.  The topper was a real hit at the party. I made him out of a 50/50 mixture of modeling chocolate and fondant. Living in Indiana, I’m still getting used to the crazy humidity of the midwest. The party was outside and so the cake was totally exposed to the moisture in the air. When I tried to take the leprechaun off the cake he was so sweaty and mushy….but, he’s still in one piece.

image

The small football on the side was made of rice krispies treats, covered in fondant.

image

He really does look like he wants to fight someone!

image

This is the cake at the party and the lighting was so much better. I hope to make more Fighting Irish cakes in the future, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

