h1

Squirrel Cake Topper

September 29, 2016

image

This weekend is my Father-In-Law’s birthday and I asked him what kind of cake he wanted me to make him. He told me not to make a big decorated cake but just a nice pineapple upside down cake. Well, I HAVE TO GIVE HIM SOME SORT OF DECOR!  So, I came up with a funny little squirrel that I’ll place right on top of the pineapples. He’s been trying to trap three squirrels that are eating his shed in the backyard and I thought it would be so funny to make a fondant squirrel for his cake. He has made it his mission to get those little rodents.

image

The squirrel is made of rice krispies treats and covered in 50/50 fondant and modeling chocolate. The head is actually a foam egg and also covered in the 50/50. I ran out of 50/50 so the tail is just fondant. I painted the little guy with food color gel and vodka. The vodka waters down the gel and makes for perfect paint that is like watercolors.  I also dusted the squirrel with petal dust and a majority of him in chocolate cocoa powder.

image

To get the look of the fur I used my wilton tool that has lots of lines on it…sorry I don’t know what it’s called. I scored lines all over his body but kept them in a flowing pattern. For the tail, I rolled out a sausage shape of fondant and used my tiny scissors to cut pointy pieces to resemble a fluffy tail.

image

I also gave him a little smile, just for my Father-In-Law. I hope you like my squirrel!

Leave a Reply

